HUD Complaint on Housing Discrimination Vanished in thin air and VA Home Loans won’t do jack

On the July 23, 2012, I filed a complaint on housing discrimination with the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.  On housing discrimination, HUD writes:

Housing discrimination based on your race, color, national origin, religion, sex, family status, or disability is illegal by federal law. If you have been trying to buy or rent a home or apartment and you believe your rights have been violated, you can file a fair housing complaint.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

In Switzerland, one has to refinance one’s mortgage every few years.  Yet, as a direct result of US policy, the following banks personally told me that they will not refinance my mortgage since I am a “US Person”:

  • Raiffeisen
  • Bank Coop
  • AXA Bank
  • Migros Bank
  • NAB
  • Valiant Bank AG
  • SwissLife
  • Hypothekarbank Lenzburg
  • Swissquote Bank
  • FinanzZentrum Jungfrau AG

Concerning my mortgage history, the current lender wrote:

All experiences with [SwissPinoy] and the bank have been very positive.  There has never been a problem with any of their business relations.  We are very pleased with all of our dealings with [SwissPinoy].  Our experiences would indicate that there is a high degree of integrity and responsibility in the way [SwissPinoy] conducts their financial affairs.  Therefore, we consider them to be respectable, honest, trustworthy and of good standing and repute.  This data is based on actual data and experience.

The Swiss government informed me that banks have the legal right to deny individuals mortgages based on national origin.  However, since this action is the result of US policy, I filed a complaint with the US Department of Housing and Urban Development.  After several days, I received no response and so I called HUD and was advised to call back in about 3 weeks.  Today, I was finally able to reach someone and was informed that my complaint was not on file.  It had vanished.  I explained that I’m probably the only US person in Switzerland who has a mortgage and was advised to resubmit the complaint.

HUD will only help Americans who are harmed by US policy in the 50 States and US territories.  Americans citizens who are harmed by the US government in other nations are ignored by the US government and left on their own.

 

Well, no worries.  I’m a US veteran and the US Home Loan program allows veterans to purchase their primary residence.

The VA Home Loan program allows veterans with qualifying income and credit to purchase a primary residence without putting any money down towards the sale price of the home, as long as that sale price does not exceed the appraised value of the home.
US Department of Veterans Affairs

So, I called VA to inquire if they would help me to refinance my mortgage since banks are refusing to lend me money simply because I’m a US veteran.  Well, the US Department of Veterans Affairs informed me that it does not help American veterans who are denied mortgages for being US persons as a result of US policy.  This shows that the US government is not only willing to harm innocent American citizens who served the country and are living abroad, but that it will then do nothing for them afterwards.

Leave a Reply

